Maysaloon – The Forgotten Dawn Out April 11

The Syrian Metal Scene is alive in many forms from under the rubble of the devastating civil war that has been tearing apart the country for many years now.

The Syrian people are known throughout history to be great warriors, and they are fighting against all odds to make their hard situation a better one through art and music. Among these warriors is a new generation of great Metal heads who are turning their pain into heavy aggressive riffs of darkness. One of these bands is a great new aspiring band, Maysaloon, who will be releasing their debut LP on April 11th, 2017.

So who are Maysaloon?

Maysaloon is a Syrian Technical/Melodic, Oriental Death Metal Band, founded by Jake Shuker in late 2015, after playing a live concert in Damascus.

Maysaloon members consist of Jake Shuker: Guitar/ Vocals, Yousef Yaziji: Guitar, Dio Al-Miqdad: Bass.

Eight months ago, the band started recording their first ever LP called “The Forgotten Dawn”. The recording took place at Jake’s home with minimal equipment due to the hard accessibility and lack of financial support caused by the civil war.
The EP’s official teaser was released on Monday 6/3/2017 (Watch video below) and contains 8 tracks:

  1. Lama Bada Yatathana (Intro)
  2. The First Believer – Al Namroud
  3. The Horrid Homage
  4. Seals of Astarte
  5. Seeds of Sanity
  6. Tanit Demands Her Due
  7. Hatred and Pain Will Always Remain
  8. The Forgotten Dawn (Instrumental)
  9. Pull The Plug (Death Cover)


The band is successful regardless of the war going on in their county, for they are trying their best to continue the thing they love and making Syria proud.
Maysaloon’s music was influenced by a lot of bands such as Death, Obscura, Dark Tranquillity, and ancient Mesopotamian music.
Their lyrical themes are also about Ancient Civilizations, wars, and philosophy, which apply in today’s world. The lyrics of the album were written by Waddah Al Tawil, expect for “Seeds of Sanity” which was written by Jake and “Hatred and Pain Will Always Remain” by Dio Al Miqdad.

The awesome album art was designed by Syrian artist Trident Abd.
You can go ahead and enjoy the song in the video below.

Interview with Onslaught

An Interview With Onslaught

It was a very exciting moment when, during last September's THRASH MERCENARIES TOUR, we contacted Blaakyum, who were part of ...

– Roy Sassine

Want to join Metal Bell? We are looking for authors, editors, reviewers, photographers, and designers.

Send an email to: joinus[@]

Would you do something like this? Leave a Comment.



  1. Anonymous


  2. Maysaloon

    That’s amazing guys thanks a lot for doing this !
    awesome Magazine indeed \m/

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2023 Metal Bell Magazine

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑