After a 4-year wait, Swedish metallers Meshuggah finally announce details on their new album.

Meshuggah’s eighth studio album titled “The Violent Sleep of Reason” was inspired by a Goya painting titled “The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters”, produced by the band, and engineered by Tue Madsen at Puk Studios in Kaerby, Denmark.


For the artwork of the album, the band has teamed up again with Keerych Luminokaya who has previously executed the cover art for two of Meshuggah’s albums, Koloss and The Ophidian Trek, as well as new cover art for all 7 albums and 3 EPs featured in the 25 Years of Musical Deviance box set.


The Violent Sleep of Reason track list:

  1. Clockworks
  2. Born in Dissonance
  3. MonstroCity
  4. By the Ton
  5. Violent Sleep of Reason
  6. Ivory Tower
  7. Stifled
  8. Nostrum
  9. Our Rage Won’t Die
  10. Into Decay

The album is available for preorder physically from Nuclear Blast Records or digitally from iTunes, Amazon, or Google Play.

The album will be released on October 7, 2016 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Read more by: 
Want to join Metal Bell? We are looking for authors, photographers, and graphic designers.

Send an email to:

What do you think? Leave a Comment.