Updated: DREAM THEATER | The Astonishing

The Astonishing album of an astonishing band.
Yes! We are talking about DREAM THEATER’s 13th album. (Scroll Down To Watch the first single from the album: The Gift of Music)

Well, it seems this is going to be “astonishing” on many levels. As far as we know for now!

The story started with the splash page on Dreamtheater.net telling us that “The path will soon divide”, and asking us to choose wisely between “THE GREAT NORTHERN EMPIRE” and “RAVENSKILL REBEL MILITIA”.

DREAM THEATER | The Astonishing

Apparently, the album will be a double LP Rock Opera. This kind of reminds us of 2002’s album, “Six Degrees Of Inner Turbulence” double concept album, but with an operatic touch.

For the excitement, the band started posting pictures and teasers related to the concept of the album on their social media accounts and website. Releasing so far 6 out of 8 characters:

– The Rebel leader: ARHYS from RAVENSKILL REBEL MILITIA. [expand title=”See Pic“]ARHYS[/expand]

– The CHOSEN ONE: GABRIEL from RAVENSKILL REBEL MILITIA.  [expand title=”See Pic“]Gabriel[/expand]

– The Emperor: NAFARYUS of THE GREAT NORTHERN EMPIRE. [expand title=”See Pic“]emperornafaryus[/expand]

– The Crown Prince: DARYUS of THE GREAT NORTHERN EMPIRE. [expand title=”See Pic“]Daryus[/expand]

– The Empress: ARABELLE of THE GREAT NORTHERN EMPIRE. [expand title=”See Pic“]ARABELLE[/expand]

– The Rebel: EVANGELINE from RAVENSKILL REBEL MILITIA. [expand title=”See Pic“]evangeline_large[/expand]

Also on The Astonishing page on Dream Theater’s website, you can find an undisclosed map and a locked section called “Places” to keep things more mysterious.

You can now per-order special and limited package editions of the release >here<

DREAM THEATER | The Astonishing

Meet Nomac

On December 4th, 2015, Dream Theater premiered the third track from “ACT I” (first LP from The Astonishing), “The Gift of Music“, to give us a taste of what to expect from the album (Listen to the song in the YouTube video posted below).



Dream Theater will be playing the album live around Europe, on February and March next year. So far, the VIP Packages are almost sold out for the show in Amsterdam on February 23rd, 2016.
To check out the upcoming Dream Theater shows and to book your ticket click >here<




1. Descent of the NOMACS
2. Dystopian Overture
3. The Gift of Music
4. The Answer
5. A Better Life
6. Lord Nafaryus
7. A Savior in the Square
8. When Your Time Has Come
9. Act of Faythe
10. Three Days
11. The Hovering Sojourn
12. Brother, Can You Hear Me?
13. A Life Left Behind
14. Ravenskill
15. Chosen
16. A Tempting Offer
17. Digital Discord
18. The X Aspect
19. A New Beginning
20. The Road to Revolution


1. 2285 Entr’acte
2. Moment of Betrayal
3. Heaven’s Cove
4. Begin Again
5. The Path That Divides
6. Machine Chatter
7. The Walking Shadow
8. My Last Farewell
9. Losing Faythe
10. Whispers on the Wind
11. Hymn of a Thousand Voices
12. Our New World
13. Power Down
14. Astonishing

Want to join Metal Bell?  We are looking for authors, photographers, and designers.

Send an email to: joinus@metal-bell.com.

What do you think? Are you stoked? Leave a Comment.


DREAM THEATER | The Astonishing

1 Comment

  1. wlak eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh ASTONISHING!

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2020 Metal Bell Magazine

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑