Today, David Gilmour released his newest single, “Rattle That Lock”, taken from the album of the same name. The album is set to release September 18, but you can pre-order it now from his official site.


As Gilmour’s official website explains, the album’s single “Rattle That Lock” “begins with the four notes, created by [sound designer] Michaël Boumendil, which precede announcements at French SNCF railway stations which David recorded on his phone at Aix-en-Provence station. Polly’s lyrics were inspired by Book II of John Milton’s Paradise Lost.”

The cover of the album was made by the same company that created the cover for The Dark Side of the Moon.

rattle-that-lockGilmour also announced 4 tour dates in North America  for 2016:

  1. March 24 at LA’s Hollywood Bowl
  2. March 31 at Toronto’s Air Canada Center
  3. April 8 at Chicago’s United Center
  4. April 11 at New York’s Madison Square Garden

Tickets go on sale starting today via TicketMaster, and all concert goers also get the CD free.

Rattle That Lock will be available for purchase as  vinyl, digital download, and a deluxe box edition complete with four Barn Jam films, two promo clips, four documentaries, and four non-album tracks. Deluxe editions are available as CD/DVD and CD/Blu-ray packages including “two hardback books, a double-sided poster, a postcard in a dedicated envelope, and a David Gilmour plectrum.”

Track Listing:

1. “5 A.M.”
2. “Rattle That Lock”
3. “Faces Of Stone”
4. “A Boat Lies Waiting”
5. “Dancing Right In Front Of Me”
6. “In Any Tongue”
7. “Beauty (Gilmour)
8. “The Girl In The Yellow Dress”
9. “Today”
10. “And Then…”


Mark your calendars.